The sacred space within the Apparition Chapel and Oratory is understood to be where Adele saw the Blessed Mother in 1859.
The current Apparition Chapel is the fourth chapel to have been built on the grounds. Constructed in 1942, the church’s Tudor Gothic architecture, wooden truss ceilings, and religious statues showcase a style of devotional art reminiscent of the early 20th century.
The original chapel was built in 1859, the same year the apparition took place, by Adele’s father, Lambert Brise. Only 10 ft. x 12 ft, the small chapel was built for the Brise family to pray at.
In 1861, area Belgian settlers came together with Lambert to build a larger, wooden chapel to accommodate around 100 people. While the Shrine does not have an official image of the chapel, it was described as a log structure, 24 ft x 40 ft, with a French inscription above the door saying “Notre Dame De Bon Secours, Priez Pour Nous.” Translated, it reads “Our Lady of Good Help, Pray for Us.” This would have been the chapel that stood during the Miracle of the Fire in 1871.
The third chapel was built in 1880 and was the first brick structure on the site.